‘Truly Impactful’ Research

Climate sensing. Neural circuits. Active matter. Molecular beam epitaxy. Multimedia learning. Five UC Santa Barbara professors in disciplines spanning geology to biology, physics to psychology have been selected as this year’s newest fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The new fellows are: geography professor Dar Roberts; biology professor Julie Simpson; physics theorist Mark Bowick; materials scientist Chris Palmstrøm; and Richard Mayer, a professor of psychological and brain sciences. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

News Date: 

Tuesday, January 31, 2023