Academy Honors

Three faculty members of UC Santa Barbara have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Chemist Joan-Emma Shea, economist Shelly Lundberg and chemical engineer Michael Doherty are among 261 new fellows and international members of the prestigious organization. Their selections bring to 45 the number of UC Santa Barbara faculty members who have been named fellows of the academy.

“On behalf of our UC Santa Barbara community, I am honored and delighted to congratulate Professors Michael Doherty, Shelly Lundberg, and Joan-Emma Shea on their election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the oldest learned societies in the country,” said Chancellor Henry T. Yang. “This prestigious achievement is a deeply meaningful affirmation from their peers of their inspirational leadership in research, teaching, and service to our society.”

News Date: 

Friday, April 29, 2022